St. Andrew's United Reformed Church

Ramshill Road, Scarborough, North Yorkshire, YO11 2LN

Email: minister@scarborough-urc.org.uk

Telephone: 01723 581642

church logo IMG_2674

Regular Events

 

Sunday

10:30 am Morning worship, followed by Fairtrade refreshments in the church hall. Holy Communion is celebrated on the first Sunday of each month.

 

Monday 

10:00 - 11:30 am Little Rays pre-school play group (school term times only).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2:00 - 4:00 pm Indoor games, crafts and social afternoon

 

Tuesday

2:00 - 4:00 pm U3A Trams and Trains group (except last Tuesday in the month)

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society, at St. Andrew's (monthly - last Tuesday in the month).

 

Wednesday

9:30 am - 11:30 am Knits, Knots and Knatter: Knitting, crochet, convivial conversation and coffee.

10:00 am - 1:00 pm Willows Lull Hub at St. Andrew's.

2:00 pm - 4:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Alternate weeks.

2:00 pm - 4:00 pm Beacon Community Group at St. Andrew's. (First Wednesday of each month - to be confirmed).

 

Thursday

10:00 am Bible study (third Thursday of each month).

1:00 pm - 3:00 pm Dementia Forward wellbeing cafe

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6:30 pm - 7:30 pm Flash Mob (school term times only).

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

7:00 pm - 8:00 pm St. Andrew's Singers practice

 

Friday

10:00 am - 2:00 pm The Beacon Cafe - tea, coffee, cold drinks and snacks served all day. Light lunches served from 12:00 - 1:00.

6:30 pm - 8:00 pm St. Andrew's Youth Group (fortnightly, on 2nd and 4th Fridays of the month during school term times).

 

Saturday

10:30 am - 12:30 am Messy Church (first Saturday of each month).

Upcoming Events

 

MARCH

Thursday 19th March

10:00 am Bible study.

2:00 pm Lent course at St. Edward's.

 

Friday 20th March

6:30 pm Lent service at St. Andrew's.

 

Sunday 22nd March

Mothering Sunday

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by Mr. Gordon Whitehead.

 

Thursday 26th March

2:00 pm Lent course at St. Edward's.

 

Friday 27th March

6:30 pm Lent service at St. Andrew's.

 

Saturday 28th March

Concert - Una Voce (formerly Manhattan Voices).

 

Sunday 29th March

2:00 am British summertime begins. Set clocks forward.

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by St. Andrew's Worship Team.

3:05 pm (TBC) Transmission of BBC 'Songs of Praise' recorded at St. Andrew's on Sunday 16th February (with the Reverend Alex Clare-Young).

 

Tuesday 31st March

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society at St. Andrew's, speaker: Anne Morley.

 

APRIL

Wednesday 1st April

10:00 am Worship Team meeting (Children's Room).

 

Thursday 2nd April

2:00 pm Lent course at St. Edward's.

 

Friday 3rd April

6:30 pm Lent service at St. Andrew's.

 

Saturday 4th April

10:30 am - 12:30 pm Messy Church. Theme: 'Easter'.

 

Sunday 5th April

Plam Sunday

10:30 am Morning worship, including the sacrament of Holy Communion, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

 

Monday 6th April

10:00 am - 2:00 pm Church open.

11:00 am Holy Week Bible study.

12:00 noon Short service.

2:00 pm Church elders' meeting.

 

Tuesday 7th April

10:00 am - 2:00 pm Church open.

11:00 am Holy Week Bible study.

12:00 noon Short service.

 

Wednesday 8th April

10:00 am - 2:00 pm Church open.

11:00 am Holy Week Bible study.

12:00 noon Short service.

 

Thursday 9th April

Maundy Thursday

10:00 am - 2:00 pm Church open.

11:00 am Holy Week Bible study.

12:00 noon Short service.

 

Friday 10th April

Good Friday

10:00 am - 2:00 pm Church open.

11:00 am Bible study.

12:00 noon Short service.

 

Saturday 11th April

11:00 am - 2:00 pm Spring fair and community fun day.

 

Sunday 12th April

Easter Day

Time TBC Sunrise service at Dulverton Hall.

10:30 am Morning worship at St. Andrew's, including the sacrament of Holy Communion, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

 

Monday 13th April

Easter Monday Bank Holiday.

 

Thursday 16th April

10:00 am Bible study.

 

Saturday 18th April

7:30 pm Concert in church, in aid of 'Feed the Minds'.

 

Sunday 19th April

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by the Reverend Alex Clare-Young.

 

Thursday 23rd April

St. George's Day.

 

Saturday 25th April

10:00 am for 10:30 am Quarterly church meeting.

 

Sunday 26th April

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by the Reverend Steven Knapton.

 

Tuesday 28th April

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society at St. Andrew's. Speaker: David Lane

 

MAY

Saturday 2nd May

10:30 am - 2:30 pm Messy Church.

 

Sunday 3rd May

10:30 am Morning worship, including the sacrament of Holy Communion, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

Deadline for submission to Jean Glover of items to be included in the June/July/August issue of News and Views.

 

Monday 4th My

2:00 pm Church elders' meeting (TBC).

 

Wednesday 6th May

11:30 am - 4:00 pm URC Annual Yorkshire Assembly at Scarborough Spa Complex.

 

Friday 8th May

May Day Bank Holiday.

 

Sunday 10th May

10:30 am Morning worship.

 

Sunday 17th May

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by the Reverend Alex Clare-Young.

 

Tuesday 19th May

2:00 pm South Cliff Churches Together Annual General Meeting at St. Michael's.

 

Thursday 21st May

10:00 am Bible study.

 

Sunday 24th May

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

 

Tuesday 26th May

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society at St. Andrew's. Speaker: Tricia McNaughton

 

Sunday 31st May

Pentecost (Whit Sunday)

10:30 am Morning worship conducted by the Reverend Jason McCullagh.

 

JUNE

Saturday 13th June

Supper and concert in support of Mission Aviation Fellowship.

 

JULY

Monday 27th - Friday 31st July

Children's Holiday Club 2020. Theme: 'Food Glorious Food!'

Poster Thursday Together  Flyer-page0001 72830702_2630361957031420_1407628763365113856_n

Coronavirus and St Andrew’s / The Beacon Hall

 

UPDATE 18th March

 

In line with Government and Denominational advice  and with much sorrow we must shut the doors of our building for at least the next few months.

 

All weekly activities in the Beacon Hall have stopped. This includes the Social Group, Knit Knot Natter, Afternoon Fellowship, Beacon Cafe, St Andrew`s Singers and Flash Mob, Dementia Cafe and Willows Lull hub.

 

The Easter Fair has been cancelled, and the Church Meeting scheduled for April will be postponed until later in the year.

 

Sunday services will no longer be held in the building but we will continue to worship online. Please join our facebook page https://www.facebook.com/standrewsurcscarborough/

 

If you need anything or have any questions please do not hesitate to contact your Elder for the latest information. If you are lonely, get in touch for a chat. If you are isolating and need shopping let us know.

 

Remember that God is with us.

 

Love and Peace

 

Revd Jo