St. Andrew's United Reformed Church

Ramshill Road, Scarborough, North Yorkshire, YO11 2LN

Email: minister@scarborough-urc.org.uk

Telephone: 01723 581642

church logo IMG_2674

Regular Events

 

Sunday

10:30 am Morning worship, followed by Fairtrade refreshments in the church hall.

 

Monday 

10:00 - 11:30 am Little Rays - mothers, babies and toddlers group

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

2:00 - 4:00 pm Indoor games, crafts and social afternoon

 

Tuesday

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society, at St. Andrew's (monthly - last Tuesday in the month)

 

Wednesday

11:00 am - 12:00 noon 'Quiet Space' - Church open for silent reflection, followed at noon by a short service (monthly - first Wednesday in the month).

2:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Alternate weeks, starting 26th September.

 

Thursday

6:30 pm - 8:00 pm Youth group (school term time only)

7:00 pm St. Andrew's Singers practice

 

Friday

10:00 am - 2:00 pm The Beacon Cafe - tea, coffee, cold drinks and snacks served all day. Light lunches served from 12:00 - 1:30.

7:00 pm - 8:45 pm Short-mat bowls at South Cliff Methodist Church Hall

Upcoming Events

 

SEPTEMBER

Monday 17th - Saturday 22nd September

10:00 am - 4:00 pm Book fair in aid of Feed the Minds, at Westborough Methodist Church.

 

Thursday 20th September

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Friday 21st September

7:00 pm Organ recital at St. Martin's Church by Philip Moore, Organist Emeritus, York Minster. Tickets £8 on the door. Refreshments included.

 

Saturday 22nd September

6:30 pm (doors open 6:00) Concert at St. Andrew's, by Manhattan Voices Women's Choir and The Daytones Male Choir. Tickets £7.50. No refreshments.

 

Sunday 23rd September

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

 

Tuesday 25th September

2:00 pm Safeguarding (of children and vulnerable adults) instruction, in St. Andrew's main hall.

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society - 'Judi's Obsession', in St. Andrew's prayer chapel.

 

Wednesday 26th September

2:00 pm St. Andrew's Afternoon Fellowship: Opening meeting of 2018-2019 session. Speaker: John Porter - 'The RNLI'.

 

Thursday 27th September

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Saturday 29th September

10:00 am - 6:00 pm Sponsored sung hymnathon at Westborough Methodist Church, in aid of Feed the Minds.

 

Sunday 30th September

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by the Reverend Trevor Holborn.

 

OCTOBER

Saturday 6th October

2:00 pm - 4:00 pm St. Andrew's Autumn Fair. Helpers required.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sunday 7th October

10:30 am Morning worship, including the sacrament of Holy Communion and harvest thanksgiving, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young.

 

Tuesday 9th October

2:30 pm SCCT. St. Andrew's Singers to St. Cecilia's Nursing Home.

 

Wednesday 10th October

2:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Speaker: Alan Hargreaves - 'The Rohilla Disaster off Whitby'.

 

Thursday 11th October

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Sunday 14th October

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by Mrs. Patricia Mollon. Collection of harvest thanksgiving envelopes (Myriame fund).

 

Thursday 18th October

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Sunday 21st October

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by Mr. Gordon Whitehead. (St. Andrew's Worship Team at Flowergate U.R.C., Whitby.)

12:30 pm SCCT safari harvest lunch, starting at South Cliff Methodist Church.

 

Wednesday 24th October

2:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Speaker: Chris Stevens - 'Voyage Around the Baltic'.

 

Thursday 25th October

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Saturday 27th October

10:00 am Coffee and registration, in advance of...

10:30 am Quarterly church meeting.

 

Sunday 28th October

2:00 am British summertime ends. Clocks go back 1 hour.

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by the Worship Team. Deadline for items for inclusion in December/January/February issue of News & Views to be submitted to Jean Glover.

 

Tuesday 30th October

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society at St. Andrew's U.R.C. Speaker: Jean Glover - 'From Spacesuits to Teddy Bears'.

 

Wednesday 31st October

Hallowe'en

 

NOVEMBER

Thursday 1st November

All Saints' Day

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Friday 2nd November

All Souls' Day

 

Sunday 4th November

10:30 am Morning worship, including the sacrament of Holy Communion, conducted by the Reverend Peter Jordan.

 

Wednesday 7th November

2:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Speaker TBA.

 

Thursday 8th November

7:45 pm SCCT combined choir rehearsal at St. Martin's Church.

 

Sunday 11th November

Remembrance Sunday

10:00 am Morning worship, including Act of Remembrance, conducted by the Reverend Jo Clare-Young (time and order of service TBC).

7:00 pm 'Requiem' by Gabriel Fauré, performed in St. Martin's Church by the combined SCCT choirs, conducted by Eric Hewes (time and other details TBC).

 

Sunday 18th November

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by Mr. Gordon Whitehead.

 

Wednesday 21st November

2:00 pm Afternoon Fellowship. Speaker TBA.

 

Sunday 25th November

10:30 am Morning worship, conducted by Mrs. Patricia Mollon.

 

Tuesday 27th November

2:00 pm East Yorkshire Family History Society at St. Andrew's. Speaker: Freddie Fox - 'The Founding of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission'.

 

Friday 30th November

St. Andrew's Day

 

 

Poster 0001